Skip to content

Birthday Tea Party

April 6, 2012

Last Sunday I had a ladies only tea party. Even though I felt somewhat rushed, and I didn’t have all the detailsI wanted I think it turned out pretty great.

Here is the invitation I had

My colour scheme was pink, green, yellow, cream and some hints of bolder colours like red. I had a lot of fun with table clothes as you can see.

The tea selection was very important to me. All of my teas came from Pekoe Tea Lounge. I had classic flavours like orange pekoe and my favourite earl grey, as well as unique flavours like tiramisu, apple pie and grapefruit pepper. I had all sorts of tea enhancers like lemon, sugar and mint. As well as milk and agave.

I wanted to use classic china cups. I had two different patterns. One of the patterns was a gift from my grandma. I originally intended to use them to make tea cup candles but didn’t get around to making them yet.

My mum and I made a variety of tiny sandwiches. Cucumber & cream cheese, avocado with cucumber and cream cheese, honey maple ham with havarti & lettuce and radish with cucumber. Aren’t the radish mushrooms my mum carved adorable?

I made earl grey cookies with a yummy amount of tea in it (almost 3 table spoons). They were the same texture as short bread, mmm.

I made lemon vanilla cupcakes with a lemon butter cream. The cupcake holder was a great Winners find.

I wanted to have a piece of art that had to do with tea so I picked one of my favourite quotes that is basically me in a nut shell.

I used some scrabble tiles to spell out ‘adore tea’ I thought it looked cute next to all the tea fix ups.

Melissa enjoying her first cup of grapefruit pepper. She thought it would be interesting to not use a tea filter and chew the bits of fruit.

My grandma and her amazing tea party hat.

Isn’t Melissa’s dress wonderful?

My mum found the perfect mint green floral dress!

The ever lovely ladies Lindsay & Candice.

The amazing chocolate ganache cupcakes Candice made me! If you ever need a cake or cupcakes or other baked goods she’s your girl! She’s the un-official official baker of the Vancouver Canucks. Visit Baked in Vancouver for details.

Katherine and I.

Tess’s lovely pink & grey ensemble.

Jocelyn’s perfect polka dots!

Julia and I.

Nonna, grandma, mum & I.

Candice had on this great ‘mullet’ dress. I don’t know what else to call it. It’s short in the front and longer in the back. I definitely need to buy one of those dresses.

Lindsay had on this great floral tiered dress! Super girly.

Sabine, myself and Melissa. We all realized we had brown shoes on which isn’t that abnormal but we thought it was kind of funny.

Outfit details:
Cardigan – Reitmans
Dress – Winners
Fresh water pearls – gift from Nonna
Gold butterfly brooch – gift from Nonna
Shoes (not pictured) – Blowfish

All and all I had a lovely time. Everyone felt so feminine. It’s always nice to feel like a lady. I definitely want to host another tea party, maybe with a different summer scheme. I just had the best idea! An ICED tea party  in the summer. Now that the wheels are turning I’ll have to start planning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

