Skip to content

The Hunger Games (a review)

March 24, 2012

Everyone keeps asking for my opinion on how I liked/didn’t like the movie. I’m going to spew out my opinion. If you haven’t read the books / seen the movie / don’t want a spoiler then don’t read this.

 

I first read The Hunger Games (book one) roughly 5 years ago. I didn’t get a chance to read the last two books until recently. I read the first book in a frenzy. I couldn’t put it down! It grasped my attention almost immediately. There was hardship, violence, love, danger, action, adventure and so much more all in one book! After I finished Catching Fire and Mocking Jay I haven’t been so in love with a book series then I was at that moment.

I had high expectations for the movie. I kept hearing nothing but good reviews. 4 stars everywhere. After I read a few interviews with Jennifer Lawrence I was excited. 

Yesterday I saw the movie and let me tell you, I was worried within the first 15 minutes of it. They showed very little of District 13. Where was all the poverty? Why didn’t they show more of how Katniss’ mom was a complete lump? How come they didn’t show more relationships with how Katniss reacted with her ‘friends’ (the people she traded with). I hated how she got the pin in the movie, it was a lot more interesting in the book. The movie was incredibly shaky. I understand they wanted to show panic, but was it necessary to do a ton of quick panning throughout the introduction? It left me feeling dizzy and nauseous. 

Once in the games, they showed hardly any relationships! Katniss’ and Rue’s relationship was less than 10 minutes long. This made me mad because in the book I cried when Rue died and Katniss put flowers all around her. How could Katniss be so heart broken when the relationship and connection just wasn’t there?

Peta & Katniss’ romance was hardly there either! There was only a few kisses and hardly any connection. This is one of the biggest reasons as to why they were favoured and why they won.
 
I was really looking forward to seeing how they put the other Tributes eyes into the beasts, but they left that out as well!
 
Throughout the movie, a lot of people were laughing at perfectly serious parts. When they showed Gale’s face when Katniss and Peta shared their first kiss, stuff like that.

Honestly, I can’t stress how high my expectations were for this movie and how disappointed I am. I understand that it won’t ever be as good as the book because I make up my own imagery in my head as I’m reading but I thought it would be better than this. Okay, it wasn’t complete crap but I honestly think if they split it up between two movies and the first part showed more of their hardships and maybe did a little showing of exactly WHY The Hunger Games exists except for showing the little 30 second clip of District 13’s downfall. Ugh. I could go on forever. I’m never going to have any expectations for a book turned movie again. Although, I’ll still see Catching Fire and Mocking Jay.

On the plus side, I think Jennifer Lawrence played Katniss perfectly. It just couldn’t make up for all the tiny details that made the book so good. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

